Prior to 2000, the Poole and Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty was known as the Outstanding Teaching Award for Senior Faculty.

Meet Our 2017 Recipient

Associate Professor Peter Sunderland
Department of Fire Protection Engineering

Dr. Peter Sunderland, who received his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan in 1995, joined the University of Maryland in 2004. He is a Clark School Keystone professor and UMD Energy Research Center affiliate with expertise in combustion, fire safety, and hydrogen—specifically, hydrogen fuel-cell systems, small-scale power systems, next-generation nuclear reactors, and oil recovery, transport, and processing.

Sunderland has published numerous peer-reviewed journal articles and recieved multiple awards, including the National Science Foundation Early Career Award  in 2010. His research has been funded by NASA, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the National Fire Protection Association. 

Peter Suderland

Past Recipients

  • 2016: Jungho Kim, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2015: Amr Baz, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2014: David Lovell, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2013: Teng Li, Mechanical Engineering 
  • 2012: Christopher Davis, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2011: Rama Chellappa, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2010: Adrian Papamarcou, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2009: Kenneth Kiger and Peter Sandborn,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 2008: Sandra Greer,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 2007: Mikhail Anisimov, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 2006: M. Sherif Aggour,  Civil and Environmental Engineering  
  • 2005:  K.J. Ray Liu,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
  • 2004:  Guangming Zhang,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 2003:  James Duncan,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 2002:  David Bigio,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 2001:  Nam Sun Wang,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering  
  • 2000:  Charles Striffler,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
  • 1999:  William Walston,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 1998:  Anthony Vizzin,  Aerospace Engineering  
  • 1997:  Richard Calabrese,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering  
  • 1996:  Patrick Cunniff,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 1995:  John Anderson,  Aerospace Engineering  
  • 1994:  William Destler,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
  • 1993:  Thomas Reagan,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering  
  • 1992:  Daniel Garber,  Civil and Environmental Engineering  
  • 1991:  James Dally,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 1990:  Gary Pertmer,  Nuclear Engineering  
  • 1989:  David Holloway,  Mechanical Engineering  
  • 1988:  Frank Munno,  Nuclear Engineering  
  • 1987:  Isaak Mayergoyz,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
  • 1986:  Clifford Sayre,  Mechanical Engineering