Each spring, the UMD Office of Technology Commercialization hosts the Invention of the Year Reception to honor UMD inventors and inventions from the previous year. Clark School of Engineering faculty, researchers and students are regular recipients in the three invention categories.

Meet the 2015 Clark School Recipients

Information Science

New Advancements in Face Detection Technology

UMD researchers Ramalingam Chellappa, Rajeev Ranjan, and Vishal Patel (Ph.D. ’10) invented a new face detection software that can recognize gender and pose and extract reference points from photos. The team envisions the technology will be used in multiple fields, particularly in medical, security, psychology, surveillance, and social networking applications.

“From the early diagnosis of autism to the identification of long-term missing children through aging modeling, this invention has the potential to make a significant impact on human lives,” said Chellappa.

Life Science

A New Vaccine for Leukemia

UMD researchers Scott Walsh and Lila Kashi collaborated with National Cancer Institute researchers Scott Durum, Julie Hixon, and Wen Qing Li to create an innovative new Leukemia treatment that targets genes in cancer cells that have never been targeted before. The team developed two new antibodies that attack cancer cells and can also be used for diagnostic purposes.

“These antibodies may have the potential to load the oncologist’s tool belt with new treatment strategies for children suffering from Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia,” said Walsh, “and the antibodies may also be clinically useful to treat Leukemia in adults.” 

Physical Science

Safer and More Affordable Energy Storage

Developing green energy is a huge priority at UMD, and researchers Chunsheng Wang and Liumin Suo partnered with the U.S. Army Research Laboratory researchers Kang Xu, Oleg Borodin, and Arthur V. Cresce to invent a new Water-in-Salt electrolyte battery that is safer and better for the environment than standard lithium-ion batteries without sacrificing power.

“Our invention has the potential to transform the energy industry by replacing flammable, toxic lithium-ion batteries with our safe, green Water-in-Salt battery,” said Wang. “This technology may increase the acceptance and improve the utility of battery-powered electric vehicles, and enable large-scale energy storage of intermittent energy generators like solar and wind.”


Term Clark School Recipient(s) Invention Category
2015 Ramalingam Chellappa, Rajeev Ranjan, and Vishal Patel (Ph.D. ’10) New Advancements in Face Detection Technology Information Science
2015 Scott Walsh and Lila Kashi (11) A New Vaccine for Leukemia Life Science
2015 Chunsheng Wang and Liumin Suo (10) Safer and More Affordable Energy Storage Physical Science
2014 Min Wu Verifying the Source of Video Streams Using Electric Network Frequency (ENF) Signals Information Science
2014 Javier Atencia-Fernandez A Groundbreaking New Bacteria Detection Method for Testing Complex Food Samples Life Science
2014 Gary Rubloff and Sang Bok Lee (Chemistry) A Revolutionary, High Energy Density Nanopore Battery Physical Science
2013 K.J. Ray Liu, Feng Han, Yu-Han Yang, Beibei Wang, and Yongle Wu Time-Reversal Division Multiple Access for Wireless Broadband Communications Information Science
2013 Donald DeVoe and Omid Rahmanian Method for Rapid, Inexpensive Prototyping of Microfluidic Devices Physical Science
2012 Min Wu, Ravi Garg, Avinah L. Varna Environmental Signatures for Forensic Analysis and Alignment of Media Recordings Information Science
2011 K.J. Ray Liu, Nathan Goergen, Wan-Yi Lin Active Sensing for Dynamic Spectrum Access Information Science
2011 Silvia Muro, Rasa Ghaffarian Targeted Carriers for Drug Delivery Across the Gastrointestinal Epithelium Life Science
2011 Ichiro Takeuchi, Manfred Wuttig, Jun Cui, Yiming Wu Thermoelastic Cooling Physical Science
2009 Martin Peckerar,Neil Goldsman World's Highest Energy Density Thin-Film Battery. Physical Science
2009 Matt Dowling,Srini Raghavan "nano-velcro" chitosan-based bandage, which could significantly reduce mortality rates among cases with uncontrollable bleeding. Life Science
2009 John Baras A a key exchange system to secure Internet transactions. Information Science
2008 Peter Kofinas,Daniel Janiak Their invention is a molecularly imprinted polymer (MIP) capable of filtering viruses from the blood. Life Science
2008 Jaydev Desai,
S. K. Gupta,
Nicholas Pappafotis,
Wojciech Bejgerowski
The group's invention is a robot that can assist surgeons operating on brain tumors. Physical Science
2007 Rama Chellappa, Aravind Sundaresan Markerless Motion Capture, which is a way to analyze and express human motion in mathematical terms. Information Science
2007 Marino di Marzo, Amr Baz Integrating Sensor Monitoring the Allowable Heat Exposure Time for Firefighters. Physical Science
Runner Up
2005 Gregory S. Jackson, Bryan W. Eichhorn and Shenghu Zhou Hydrogen from Hydrocarbon Fuels Without the High Levels of Carbon Monoxide Physical
2005 John P. Fisher, Parth Modi, Jennifer Lynn Moreau, and Sachiko Kaihara Biomaterials for Tissue Engineering that Avoid Premature Degradation Life
2005 Maria I. Klapa, Harin Kanani Metabolomics Technology for Highly Accurate and Simultaneous Measurement of Hundreds of Metabolites in Biological Systems Information
2004 Pamela Ann Abshire, Benjamin Shapiro, Elisabeth Smela (9) Cell Sensor Based Pathogen Detection Physical
2004 K.J. Ray Liu, Zoltan Safar, Weifeng Su Coding Techniques for Maximum Achievable Diversity in Space, Time and Frequency for Broadband Wireless Communications Information
2003 Suneel Ismail Sheikh, Darryll J. Pines Navigation Using X-Ray Sources Physical
2003 Ashok K. Agrawala Horus: An RF-Based Location Determination System Information
2002 Balakumar Balachandran, Miao Yu, Moustafa Al-Bassyioumi Fiber Tip-Based Fiber Optic Sensor System Physical
2002 Peter Sandorn, Pameet Singh Mitigation of Obsolescence Cost Analysis (MOCA) Information
2001 Peter Kofinas, Steven Bullock, Sufi Ahmed Controlled Room Temperature Synthesis of Polymer-Templated Magnetic Nanoparticles Physical
2000 Ashok K. Agrawala (1) PinPoint Technology: Locating and Synchronizing Mobile Wireless Nodes Information
1999 Aristos Christou (2) PLZT Spatial Phase Modulator Physical
1999 Christopher Davis Polarization and Wavelength Diversity for Fade Resistance in Optical Wierless Communication Systems Information
1998 Nariman Farvardin (3) Method and Apparatus for Compressing and Decompressing Images Information
1997 James
Hendler (4)
Parka-DB™ Physical
1996 Kawthar A. Zaki Rilter Realizations Using New Transmission Media Physical
1996 Mahammad Moddares (5) Software-Based Expert System for Assessing and Monitoring of Nuclear Power Plants Information
1995 James Sirkis, Harmeet Singh Fiber Optic Three Strain Sensor Physical
1994 John Baras, Aaron Falk, Timothy Kirkwood, Brian Johnson, Anthony Ephremides (6) A System Design for a Hybrid Network Data Communications Terminal Using Asymmetric TCP/IP to Support Internet Applications Physical
1994 Ben Shneiderman (7) University of Maryland Widget Library™ Information
1987 Ben Shneiderman (8) Touch Screen Finger Mouse None
(single award)

(1) Also awarded: A. Shankar (CMPS), Ronald Larsen (OIT), and Douglas Szajda

(2) Also awarded: Maria Linnik

(3) Also awarded: Eiji Atsumi

(4) Also awarded: Killian Stoffel, Merwyn Taylor

(5) Also awarded: Seyed Mohammad Hadavi

(6) Also awarded: Danield Friedman, Narin Suphasindhu, Douglas Dillon

(7) Also awarded: Richard Chimera, Marko Teittinen, Ninad Jog, David Carr, Harsha Kumar

(8) Also awarded: Richard Potter

(9) Also awarded: Denis Wertz (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Johns Hopkins)

(10) Also awarded: Kang Xu, Oleg Borodin, and Arthur V. Cresce (U.S. Army Research Laboratory)

(11) Also awarded: Scott Durum, Julie Hixon, and Wen Qing Li (National Cancer Institute)