Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award | A. James Clark School of Engineering, University of Maryland

The University of Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Program, established in 1978, honors a small number of faculty members each year who have demonstrated notable success in both scholarship and teaching. During the academic year, Distinguished Scholar-Teachers make a public presentation on a topic within their scholarly discipline.

Term Recipient Department
2017-2018 Ichiro Takeuchi Department of Materials Science and Engineering
2016-2017 Hugh Bruck Department of Mechanical Engineering
2015-2016 Amr Baz Department of Mechanical Engineering
2014-2015 Reza Ghodssi Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Institute for Systems Research
2013-2014 Min Wu Electrical and Computer Engineering and UM Institute for Advanced Computer Studies
2012-2013 Carol Espy-Wilson Electrical and Computer Engineering and Institute for Systems Research
2012-2013 Robert Briber Materials Science and Engineering
2009-2010 Patrick O'Shea Electrical & Computer Engineering
2007-2008 K.J. Ray Liu Electrical & Computer Engineering
and Institute for Systems Research
2005-2006 Howard Milchberg Electrical & Computer Engineering and
Institute for Physical Science & Technology
2004-2005 James H. Duncan Mechanical Engineering
2003-2004 Ramalingam Chellappa Electrical & Computer Engineering
and Institute for Computer Studies 
2000-2001 Steven Marcus Electrical and Computer Engineering
1998-1999 Sandra Greer Chemical Engineering and
Chemistry & Biochemistry 
1997-1998 Thomas McAvoy (emeritus)  Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
1995-1996 Isaak Mayergoyz Electrical & Computer Engineering
1994-1995 Mohammad Modarres Mechanical Engineering
1993-1994 James Dally (emeritus)  Mechanical Engineering
1992-1993 William Destler Electrical Engineering
1989-1990 Christopher Davis Electrical Engineering
1987-1988 James Wallace Mechanical Engineering
1981-1982 John D. Anderson (emeritus)  Aerospace Engineering