The Terry Island Outstanding Advisor Award for the A James Clark School of Engineering recognizes professional staff excellence in undergraduate or graduate student advising. The staff member receiving the award will be presented with a $1,000 cash award.

This award was established by Professors Emeritus, William Fourney and George Dieter, to recognize the contributions made by the professional advising staff in the Clark School of Engineering. It was later named to memorialize Ms. Terry Island and honors her work as an outstanding advisor, colleague, and administrator at UMD and in the Clark School.

Nominations are being solicited at this time and the evaluation factors in determining the award recipient are:

  • Professional Staff member who provides advising to undergraduate or graduate students in the Clark School of Engineering;
  • The nomination packet should demonstrate the staff member’s significant contributions to advising and/or demonstrate best practices for the profession;
  • A statement from the nominee of their work in the Clark School and of these contributions and/or best practices;
  • Three to four nomination letters: one from a University of Maryland colleague (can be the department chair or student services' director); no more than two letters from student advisees (either past or present); and, one from a faculty member (can be the department chair);
  • The nomination letters must demonstrate and describe the staff member’s exemplary advising and dedication to students, and should also demonstrate how they have gone above and beyond their work responsibilities.
Submit a Nomination

Meet the 2024 Recipient: Shannon Bate

Since joining the University of Maryland, Shannon Bate has made a difference in the lives of our engineering students with several successful development initiatives. In addition to her role as an advisor, her passion and dedication to the Clark School community are shown through her commitment to joining multiple committees and working toward creating an inclusive and supportive environment.

Shannon Bate, Engineering Academic Services

Prior Recipients