National Academy of Engineering Founders Award Winners

C.D. Mote, Jr., Mechanical Engineering (NAE President & former UMD President)
John W. Morris, Civil and Environmental Engineering  

National Academy of Engineering Members

UMD Tenured or Tenure-Track Faculty Who Are NAE Members

  • John Anderson, Aerospace Engineering
  • Gregory Baecher, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Jacques Gansler, Civil and Environmental Engineering/Public Policy
  • James E. Hubbard, Jr., Aerospace Engineering
  • C.D. Mote, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
  • Deb A. Niemeier, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Darryll Pines, Aerospace Engineering
  • Ben Shneiderman, Computer Science/Institute for Systems Research
  • Katepalli Sreenivasan, Mechanical Engineering

UMD Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Who Are NAE Members

  • Howard Baum, Fire Protection Engineering
  • James W. Dally, Mechanical Engineering
  • Millard S. Firebaugh, Mechanical Engineering
  • Robert E. Fischell, Mechanical Engineering
  • Gerald Galloway, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Eugenia Kalnay, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Meteorology
  • Jeong H. Kim, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Percy Pierre,  Electrical and Computer Engineering

Retired or Deceased NAE Members

  • Howard Frank, Electrical and Computer Engineering (retired)
  • Ali Mosleh, Mechanical Engineering (retired)
  • G.W. Stewart, Computer Science (retired)
  • Arthur E. Bergles (1935-2014), Mechanical Engineering
  • George E. Dieter (1928-2020), Mechanical Engineering
  • Robert W. Deutsch (1924-2019), Bioengineering
  • George Irwin (1907-1998), Mechanical Engineering

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Robert Fischell (Bioengineering), 2016

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

Jim Wallace (Mechanical Engineering), 2005 Professor of the Year for the State of Maryland