The annual E. Robert Kent Teaching Award for Junior Faculty in the Clark School of Engineering will recognize a junior faculty member with a plaque and cash award (processed through payroll). Nominations from faculty and students are being solicited at this time.

Please work with the faculty member’s respective department to gather all nomination materials.

The evaluation factors in determining the award recipient are:

  • Assistant or Associate Professor with less than 10 years full-time teaching experience at time of nomination;
  • Colleague and student appraisals (evaluations from CoursEvalUM will be gathered and reviewed by the awarding committee);
  • Significant contribution(s) to teaching, preferably at both the undergraduate and graduate levels;
  • Innovative classroom techniques and classroom materials;
  • Ability to motivate students to learn.

The packet submitted for nominees must not exceed 15 pages, including appendices; any packets exceeding the 15 page maximum will not be considered. The nomination packet MUST include the following:

  • A letter of nomination;
  • Three letters of recommendation consisting of one each from: a student; University colleague (e.g., faculty member, administrator); and the nominee’s Department chair (if is not the letter of nomination)
  • A one page statement from the nominee as to their meeting the criteria of the award which include the nominee’s department(s), time at the University of Maryland, and academic rank;
  • A one page summary sheet of student evaluations and no more than one page of student comments;
  • A listing of classes taught at the University during the past 10 years (or since being appointed at UM, if shorter);
  • A summary of specific examples of innovative classroom techniques and classroom materials used by the nominee.
  • Any additional materials, including appendices, beyond the 15 page maximum may not be reviewed by the committee.
Submit a Nomination

Meet Our 2022 Recipient

Dr. Mark D. Fuge, Associate Professor, has been named as the recipient of this award which recognized for his positive impact on undergraduate and graduate students in the Mechanical Engineering department. Enthusiastic, collegial, and kind were some words students used to describe Dr. Fuge, as well as well-grounded in the fundamental computation and engineering they need to know for success. The Kent Teaching Award also recognized his broader efforts to improve engineering curriculum across the Clark School and university, specifically the Frontiers in Design Representation Summer School series, and in his creating opportunities for students to collaborate across Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science. Mark holds a joint appointment and conducts his research with the Institute for Systems Research Center for Risk and Reliability and the Maryland Robotics Center.

Read More

Dr. Mark D. Fuge, Mechanical Engineering

Past Recipients