Distinguished University Professors are established scholars, held in the highest esteem by professional colleagues nationally and internationally, and whose contributions have had a significant influence on their discipline and perhaps beyond.

Term Recipient  Department
2016 Mikhail Anisimov Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Institute for Physical Science & Technology
2016 William E. Bentley Fischell Department of Bioengineering
Institute for Bioscience and Biotechnology Research
2016 Ramalingam Chellappa Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Center for Automation Research
2016 Gary Rubloff Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Institute for Systems Research
2014 Inderjit Chopra Aerospace Engineering
2012 Anthony Ephremides Electrical and Computer Engineering
2008 Ashwani K. Gupta Mechanical Engineering
2005 Avram Bar-Cohen Mechanical Engineering
2003 Ramamoorthy Ramesh Materials Science and Engineering, Physics
1999 Jan V. Sengers Chemical Engineering/Institute for Physical Science & Technology
1995 Edward Ott Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics 

Visit this webpage for a complete list of University of Maryland Distinguished University Professors.