Chellappa, Liu Honored with IEEE SPS Society Awards

news story image

Prof. Rama Chellappa (left) and Prof. K. J. Ray Liu (right)

Two Clark School professors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering have received the highest awards offered by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Signal Processing Society (SPS).

Minta Martin Professor of Engineering Dr. Rama Chellappa (ECE/UMIACS/CS) received the highest award bestowed by the IEEE SPS, known as the Society Award, for pioneering and fundamental contributions to image and video-based analysis and understanding. Professor and Distinguished Scholar-Teacher K. J. Ray Liu received the IEEE SPS Technical Achievement Award for pioneering and outstanding contributions for the advances of signal processing in multimedia forensics, security, and wireless communications.

The IEEE SPS Society Award honors outstanding technical contributions and leadership in the Signal Processing field. The prize is $2500, a plaque and a certificate. The Technical Achievement Award honors individuals who, over a period of years, have made outstanding technical contributions to theory and/or practice in technical areas within the scope of the IEEE SPS, as demonstrated by publications, patents, or recognized impact on the field. The prize consists of $1500, a plaque and a certificate. Both awards will be presented at the Society's Awards Ceremonies at the IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP), which will be held in Dallas, March 14-19, 2010.

More information about the awards can be found at:

Published December 13, 2009