Alum Himanshu Tyagi wins 2020 INSA Medal for Young Scientists

news story image

Alumnus Himanshu Tyagi (EE Ph.D. 2013) has received the prestigious 2020 Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Medal for Young Scientists. Tyagi is an assistant professor in the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore. At Maryland he was advised by Professor Prakash Narayan (ECE/ISR).

The award is considered to be the highest recognition of promise, creativity and excellence in a young scientist, and is made annually to those distinguished for these attributes as evidenced by their research work carried out in India. In selecting Tyagi, INSA President Chandrima Shaha wrote, “You have shown great potential to be a leader in research. I am sure you will rise high and win many laurels in coming years.”

Congratulations to Dr. Himanshu Tyagi for this well-deserved award!

Published October 22, 2020