Sharma Is New University of Houston ME Chair

news story image

Pradeep Sharma '00

Clark School alumnus Pradeep Sharma (Ph.D. '00, mechanical engineering) has been named Bill D. Cook Chair of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Houston in Houston, Texas, effective January 1, 2012. The appointment also includes a promotion to full professor.

Sharma focused on the micromechanics of materials during his doctoral studies at the Clark School and was advised by Prof. Abhijit Dasgupta. Sharma has received a variety of accolades for his work, including the Young Investigators Award from the Office of Naval Research, the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the Texas Space Grants Consortium New Investigators Program Award. Additionally, he has served as associate editor for the Journal of Theoretical and Computational Nanoscience and guest editor for Mathematics and Mechanics of Solids. In his seven years at Houston, he has supervised numerous Ph.D. students and served on several university committees. Prior to his hiring at Houston in 2004, he served as a research scientist for General Electric in Schenectady, NY.

For more information on Prof. Sharma's work, visit his website.

Published January 4, 2012