Hubbard Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

James HubbardCollege Park, Md.—Department of Aerospace Engineering Samuel P. Langley Distinguished Professor James E. Hubbard, Jr. has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Hubbard was recognized as the key pioneer in developing piezo-film sensors and piezo-electric actuation systems for smart structures and materials applications, as well as his extensive contribution to aerospace engineering in the field of smart structures initially as a faculty member at Boston University, as an industrialist for a number of successful high technology start-ups, and for contributions during his current role at the University of Maryland (UMD) over the past decade and a half. 

"I am deeply humbled by this honor and excited to be included among the Nation’s best in engineering,” said Hubbard in response to his induction. “I recognize that without the help and support of my colleagues, family and students over many years this would not be possible.”

Hubbard is director of the Alexander Brown Center for Adaptive Aerospace Vehicle Technology and Morpheus Laboratory, headquartered in Langley, Va. This center is a dynamic research facility focused on aerospace applications of smart materials and adaptive structures, where his research areas involve the design, analysis, simulation and fabrication of spatially distributed systems, smart materials, smart structures and smart transducers.

"Dr. Hubbard has been, and continues to be, a pioneer and innovator in smart structures technology for the past 30 years," said Dr. Norman Wereley, Department Chair and Minta Martin Professor of Aerospace Engineering. "His induction to the NAE is a testament to his outstanding and extensive contributions to the field of aerospace engineering!"

Over the years, he has received many awards for his work, including the Charles Stark Draper Engineering Vice Presidents Annual Award for Best Technical Patent and the 2002 Black Engineer of the Year President’s Award.

In 2009, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) recognized Hubbard as one of the early pioneers of the field of Smart Structures. He has received numerous awards for teaching and mentoring excellence including the M.I.T. Goodwin Medal for “Conspicuously Effective Teaching,” The M.I.T. Steward Award for “Outstanding Service to the Community,” and in 2002, he was awarded “The Key to the City” of his hometown of Danville, Va. for lifetime achievement and mentoring. Most recently, he was recognized with the International Society for Optics and Photonics' (SPIE) 2016 Smart Structures and Materials Lifetime Achievement Award.

He has more published more than 100 technical papers and obtained 24 patents—U.S. and worldwide—in the areas of smart structures and photonics. Hubbard has served on numerous technical boards and committees including the American Helicopter Society (AHS), American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AISS) and NAE.

“This honor is a reflection of Dr. Hubbard’s unbelievable commitment to our field,” said Darryll J. Pines, Nariman Farvardin Professor and Dean of the A. James Clark School of Engineering. “He is an inspiration to all Engineers and we are proud to call him a Terp.”

Hubbard joins 23 other Clark School-affiliated faculty who have been inducted into NAE. This group includes NAE President and former UMD President and Regents Professor Dan Mote Jr.

Hubbard obtained his B.Eng., M.S. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the M.I.T. after beginning his career in 1971 as an engineering officer in the U.S. Merchant Marine serving in Vietnam. At the age of 19, he was one the youngest to receive an unlimited horsepower, steam and diesel engine Marine Engineering license from the U.S. Coast Guard.

Election to National Academy of Engineering membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. Members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations.

New academy members will be inducted later this year during a ceremony held in Washington, D. C.

For the complete list of new academy members, visit the NAE press release.


Published February 8, 2016