Three Aerospace Students Recognized as Tomorrow’s Engineering Leaders

Three aerospace engineering (AE) students have been recognized as "Tomorrow's Engineering Leaders: The 20 Twenties" by Penton's Aviation Week Network. The award, granted in partnership with the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, recognizes top engineering, math, science, and technology students worldwide and connects them with leaders in the fields.

Sylvie DeLaHunt is a second-year master's student, is working in flight dynamics and control with AE Department Chair Norman Wereley, her faculty advisor. As a 2014 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellow, she is investigating the application of a variable recruitment control strategy to a bundle of miniature pneumatic artificial muscles to try to mimic motor units in human muscles.

Elaine Petro is a third-year Ph.D. student exploring  the field of electric propulsion under AE Associate Professor Raymond Sedwick. Her research focuses on the use of water vapor propellant for helicon thrusters. A 2014 NSF Graduate Research Fellow and a 2015 Amelia Earhart Fellow sponsored by Zonta International, Petro has been selected for the Clark School's Future Faculty Program

Lauren Trollinger is a first-year master's student specializing in rotorcraft under Alfred Gessow Professor and Distinguished University Professor Inderjit Chopra, who also directs the Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center. Trollinger was a member of UMD's human-powered helicopter team, Gamera. She is now designing a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft to deliver emergency supplies to disaster victims as part of the American Helicopter Society Student Design Competition team.  

Published March 21, 2016