NASA selects Clark School Faculty to lead initiative on future access to space.

Faculty from the Clark School of Engineering receive a major award from NASA to establish one of seven NASA University Research, Engineering and Technology Institutes (URETI). Each URETI has an initial life of five years and a maximum duration of 10 years, with $3M budget per year. With long-term strategic interest to NASA and the nation, this URETI is in the area of 3rd Generation Reusable Launch Vehicles. Serving as the lead institution on this URETI, and led by Professor Mark Lewis from the Department of Aerospace Engineering, the Clark School faculty team includes: Profs. Wereley, Pines, Yu, Cadou, Akin from Aerospace Engineering, A. Gupta and Buckley from Mechanical Engineering, Smidts from Materials and Nuclear Engineering and Marshall from Fire Protection Engineering. Other participating academic institutions include: University of Michigan, University of Washington, North Carolina A&T and Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab.

This prestigious award is a testimony to the quality of our faculty and research programs. The establishment of the URETI in our university will enable us to enhance and strengthen our programs in the important area of launch vehicles and hypersonic technologies.

Published February 9, 2004