Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr
Faculty and Staff

E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty

Meet More Of Our Outstanding Faculty and Staff:

Clark School Honors

Dr. Marilyn Berman Pollans Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Faculty Service Award

E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty

Poole & Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty

Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award

Faculty Outstanding Research Award

University Honors

Invention of the Year Award

Distinguished University Professor

Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Other Awards

Searching for a Faculty or Staff Member?

There are several ways to access information on Clark School faculty and staff:

♦ View the directory of department chairs and institute directors.

Visit departmental web sites.

Use the  University of Maryland faculty and staff directory.



This award is given to a junior faculty member for excellence in teaching.

Meet Our 2013 Recipient

Ian WhiteAssistant Professor Ian White won the 2013 E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty. The award has been given since 1986 to honor Clark School junior faculty members for excellence in teaching.

The committee recognized Dr. White’s innovations in education, his ratings and reviews in both undergraduate and graduate classes, as well as his work with local high schools introducing students to mathematics and engineering applications through the BIOE 100 Introductory Mathematics for Engineering course. He mentored teams of high school teachers over the summer months to prepare them to teach BIOE 100 in their local high schools. Dr. White has previously received the 2012 Fischell Department of Bioengineering Teaching Excellence Award. He is recognized by his students as a great mentor and for his ability to explain even the most complex topics in a clear and straightforward manner. He is currently developing biosensing tools for the study of disease at the molecular level. His goal is to integrate photonic technologies into lab-on-a-chip platforms for high-throughput, low-cost biomolecular analysis.

Past Recipients

  • 2012: Teng Li, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2011: Pamela Abshire, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2010: Srini Raghavan, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 2009: Min Wu, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2008: Peter Sunderland, Fire Protection Engineering
  • 2007: Thomas Murphy, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2006: Sheryl Ehrman, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 2005: Romel del Rosario Gomez, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2004: Elisabeth Smela, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2003: Kaye Brubaker, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2002: Glenn Moglen, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2001: Eric Seagren, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2000: Darryll Pines, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1999: Peter Kofinas*, Chemical Engineering
  • 1998: Jose Torero, Fire Protection Engineering
  • 1997: Robert Sanner, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1996: Adrian Papamarcou, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1995: Nam Sun Wang, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 1994: James Milke, Fire Protection Engineering
  • 1993: Guangming Zhang, Mechanical Engineering
  • 1992: Allen Davis, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 1991: Wesley Lawson, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1990: Roberto Celi, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1989: Mark Lewis, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1987: George Harhalakis, Mechanical Engineering
  • 1986: Richard Calabrese, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

* Dr. Kofinas was formerly with Materials & Nuclear Engineering.