Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr
Faculty and Staff

Faculty Service Award

Meet More Of Our Outstanding Faculty and Staff:

Clark School Honors

Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Faculty Service Award

E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty

Poole & Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty

Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award

Faculty Outstanding Research Award

University Honors

Invention of the Year Award

Distinguished University Professor

Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Other Awards

Searching for a Faculty or Staff Member?

There are several ways to access information on Clark School faculty and staff:

♦ View the directory of department chairs and institute directors.

Visit departmental web sites.

Use the  University of Maryland faculty and staff directory.



This award is given to a faculty member whose service to his or her department, to the Clark School, and to the university has been judged outstanding.

Meet Our 2013 Recipient

Dr. KofinasAssociate Dean and Professor Dr. Peter Kofinas was the recipient of this year's Faculty Service Award.  Dr. Kofinas has served as a Keystone Professor in the Clark School and a member of the ENGAGED Faculty. He received his bachelors and masters degrees in chemical engineering, and a Ph.D. in materials science and engineering, all from MIT. He received the NSF CAREER Award in 1999 and also received the Clark School’s Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching award in the same year. A process developed in Dr. Kofinas' laboratory to create polymer-based magnetic nanocomposites was selected as the University of Maryland’s Physical Science Invention of the Year in 2002, and his polymer-based dialysis system won the Life Sciences Invention of the Year in 2008. His blood filtering technology was also licensed by Link Plus BioTech, Inc.  The committee selected Dr. Kofinas based upon his excellent mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students and his significant service on the Provost’s Academic Planning and Advisory Committee for the campus.

Previous Recipients

  • 2012: K. J. Ray Liu, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2011: Dimitrios Goulias, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2010: Norman Wereley, Aerospace Engineering
  • 2009: Alison Flatau, Aerospace Engineering
  • 2008: Richard McCuen, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
  • 2007: Nam Sun Wang, Biomolecular Engineering
  • 2006: James Milke, Fire Protection Engineering
  • 2005: Deborah J. Goodings, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2004: William Fourney, Aerospace Engineering
  • 2003: Linda Schmidt, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2002: David Holloway,  Mechanical Engineering
  • 2001: Jose Torero, Fire Protection Engineering
  • 2000: Andre L. Tits, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1999: Chung Y. Tsui, Mechanical Engineering
  • 1998: Theodore G. Smith, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 1997: William L. Fourney, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1996: David I. Bigio, Mechanical Engineering